Yes, there are migrants at the home patch!

I met Judy at the Audubon Meeting Wednesday night and she brought the good news that El Franco Lee Park had hosted a few migrants that day. Thus, after work on Thursday I made my way over there in the evening. The vegetation has become thick and rank and things started out quiet until I eventually found some titmice and chickadees. Straining my neck and pishing I eventually caught glimpses of a Yellow Warbler, American Redstart, and best of all a Bay-breasted Warbler. I walked into the woods and followed the flock, Chestnut-sided Warbler and Magnolia Warbler showed themselves, a female Summer Tanager made a brief appearance. Further down the trail I flushed a Yellow-billed Cuckoo and then came across more Chestnut-sided and Magnolia Warblers, at the sharp turn I added my first Swainson’s Thrush to my park list. On the return there were literally flocks of warblers and I added Tennessee. Overall a pretty good evening.

Leave a Reply

